- Saqqara -

The Pyramid of Unas


 


The (glorified) humanity bewail you after the Imperishable Stars have carried you
.

Burial Chamber, South Wall,
Utterance 214:39

The Pyramid of Unas, the last King of the Vth Dynasty, who ruled for about 30 years, is located in the North Saqqara on the direct route from the Pyramid of Sekemhet to the Headless Pyramid (Menkauhor).

The desert area, which includes the Unas Pyramid Complex, covers the territory of about ​​800 meters to the south-east. This is caused by the presence of an exceptionally long Causeway, leading to the ancient harbour. Such an architectural arrangement of the Pyramid complex indicates, that by some reason this very area was important for the King, whose ideas were brought to life by the Ancient Egyptian engineers, geologists and builders.

Despite the fact that the Pyramid of Unas is the smallest among the other Pyramids of the Old Kingdom, it fully carries in itself an "archived" information about the long reign of the last King of the Vth Dynasty. This information is stored both in the architecture of the Primiramid complex, as well as in the skillful hieroglyphic decoration of it's internal chambers. Here, in the interior structure of the Pyramid, where the French Egyptologist Gaston Maspero first set his foot in 1881, the ancient wall writings, known to us as the “Pyramid Texts” or the “Book of the Dead” were discovered.

Since that time archeological works in the Pyramid Complex of Unas never stopped.

  • Year 1899 - 1901. Alessandro Barsanti, the Italian architect and Egyptologist, made his first archeological excavations of the area around the Pyramid, after which the remains of Unas Memortuary Temple, as well as a number of tombs of the II Dynasty and the Late Period burials were revealed.

  • Year 1929 - 1931. Cecil Mallaby Firth, the British Egyptologist, worked on excavation of the Unas Pyramid Complex until his death in 1931.

  • Year 1936 - 1939. The study was continued by the French architect and Egyptologist Jean-Philippe Lauer.

  • Year 1937 - 1949. Egyptian archaeologists Selim Hassan, Mohammed Zakharia Goneim and Abdel-Salam Hussein focused their archaeological research especially on the Causeway. During the excavations, Hussein discovered a pair of Boat Pits, located along the upper part of it.

  • Year 1970 - 1981. Egyptian archaeologist Ahmad Moussa together with French archaeologist Odran Labrouss have excavated the lower part of the Causeway and the Valley Temple.

  • Year 1999 - 2001. A large-scale restoration of the Valley Temple was undertaken under the direction of the Supreme Council of Antiquities.

  • Year 1996 - 2016. The pyramid was closed because of the humidity, that caused damage to the Burial Chamber.

  • 26 May 2016. Minister of Antiquities Khaled El-Enany inaugurated the opening of the Pyramid of ancient Egyptian King Unas at the Saqqara necropolis after 20 years of its closing.

The Pyramid is composed of rough limestone blocks, the size of which decreases in the direction to the top. Casing rows preserved only at the lowest levels of the Pyramid. The entrance to the Pyramid is located on the north side, at the ground level.

Source: Gaston Maspero, The dawn of civilization. Egypt and Chaldaea
1897
ISIDA Project
Photo by Valery Senmuth
2019

The walls of the Burial Chamber are lined with white alabaster, on which the Ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic funeral texts, painted in turquoise (color of resurrection), are carved in vertical columns. The texts of the Pyramid of Unas contain 283 “spells” and forming a part of the “Pyramid Texts” or the “Book of the Dead”, which includs almost 800 known “spells” or “utterances” intended to accompany the soul of the deceased in the Underworld and to protect it in all it's way long.

Except the Pyramid of Unas, the Pyramid Texts were found in 4 more Pyramids of the Vth-VIth Dynasties (Teti, Pepi I, Merenre and Pepi II) and in the Pyramid of the VIIth Dynasty, belonging to the King Ibi, as well as in several small Pyramids of the Queens.

The sarcophagus of Unas, made of greywacke, is located near the western wall of the Burial Chamber. The King's mummy was never found, except a few mummified fragments of bones, discovered during the archaeological work inside the Pyramid. These human remains, found in the Pyramid, are currently stored in the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities in Cairo, but it is still unclear whether they belonged to King Unas or not.

Some external architecture features of the Pyramid of Unas and its environs were described in the expedition report of ISIDA Project in 2012. The interior rooms were described in the expedition report - 2013, when the members of our research group were granted a special permission for accessing the interior part of the Pyramid.

Now the doors of the Pyramid of Unas are open to the public. And for now - welcome to a small virtual tour through the Space and Time!

Gaston Maspero inside Unas Burial Chamber in 1881.
Artist:
Edouard, Boudier, 1903
Unas Burial Chamber.
Photo:
Valery Senmuth, 2019


Below are the photos, of the Pyramid of Unas interior, "Pyramid Texts", Unas Sracophagus:

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Unfortunately the Mortuary Temple of Unas, located from the eastern side of the Pyramid, is completely destroyed. Many of its parts, including blocks, architraves and columns, were reused in later times in another structures throughout the long history of the Ancient Egyptian Kingdom as well as the Roman Period.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

The small Subsidiary Pyramid was located from the southern side of the Mortuary Temple inside the Enclosure Wall. Only the perimeter of its foundation is partially preserved.

   
   
   

On the southern side of the Pyramid there is a part of hieroglyphic inscription, carved by Khaemweset - the eldest son of Ramesses II, the high priest of the God Ptah in Memphis. Prince Khaemweset has repaired many monuments of the Old Kingdom, including the Pyramid of Unas, restored 1000 years after its construction. For his large-scale architectural and restoration activities which included reconstruction of destroyed Temples and other Ancient Egyptian monuments, created by his ancestors, Khaemweset is often called “the first archaeologist”.

   
   
   

The Causeway, connecting the Upper Temple of Unas with its Valley Temple, was really an impressive grandiose structure in its time. Being excavated by Selim Hassan in 1937, it is still the best preserved Causeway, among other known Causeways, leading from the Pyramids to the Nile. It consisted of a 720 m long roofed corridor, the inner walls of which were decorated with high-quality bas-reliefs, depicting the scenes from the Living World, beginning in the East and ending with the scenes from the World of the Dead in the West.

Among the carved scenes, there are images of transportation of granite from Aswan, hunting scenes (including giraffes, lions and leopards), agriculture, metalworking, battles, as well as the scenes of Royal rituals, including Kheb-Sed ceremonies.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

In the upper part of the Causeway, on the left from it, there are two Boat Pits, the walls of which are lined with limestone blocks.

   
   
   

Unfortunately, the condition of the Lower Temples of the Pyramids is very poor. The reason for this was the easy quarrying of building materials for construction of another buildings in later times. Their convenient location and proximity to the Nile - the main transportation rout of Egypt, was the main reason of this easy quarrying, which in some cases left even no stone from the ancient Valley buildings. The Valley Temple of King Unas was not the exception. As a result of research and restoration work, carried out under the direction of the Supreme Council of Antiquities, it was established that the Valley Temple of Unas was probably located on a shore of a lake with a harbor and embankment, providing the convenient access to the Causeway.

During the restoration works, held in the recent years, both the Causeway and the Valley Temple have undergone major reconstruction, and now, after almost 4,5 thousand years, one can safely walk along the cobbled road, starting his way from the ancient harbor, where the Royal Boats once moored, up to the Pyramid itself. To that very Pyramid, that was first to open to us the stone pages of the most ancient Book on the Earth - the Book of Eternity - the "Book of the Dead".


Photo by Tore Kjeilen/LookLex


<< Back to Saqqara

Discuss on Forum >>


© Copyright 2019 of ISIDA Project. All rights reserved.

- Саккара -

Пирамида Унаса


 

Славные люди оплачут Тебя,
когда Вечные Звёзды примут Тебя
.

Погребальная Камера, Южная стена, Высказывание 214:39

Пирамида Унаса (последнего Царя V Династии, правившего около 30 лет), расположена в Северной Саккаре, на прямом пути от Пирамиды Секемхета до Безглавой Пирамиды (Менкаухора).

Участок пустыни, на котором расположился Пирамидный Комплекс Унаса, охватывает территорию протяженностью в 800 метров на юго-восток от самой Пирамиды. Это вызвано наличием исключительно длинной Процессионной Дороги, ведущей к близлежащему озеру (ныне пересохшему). Такая планировка комплекса явно указывает на то, что именно этот участок имел важное значение для заказчика строительства, чьи идеи были воплощены Древнеегипетскими инженерами, геологами и строителями.

Несмотря на то, что Пирамида Унаса является самой миниатюрной среди Пирамид Древнего Царства, она в полной мере несет в себе законсервированную информацию о долгом правлении последнего Царя V Династии, отображённую как в архитектуре строений Пирамидного комплекса, так и в искуссном иероглифическом убранстве внутренних камер. Именно здесь, во внутренних помещениях Пирамиды, куда впервые в 1881 году ступила нога французского египтолога Гастона Масперо, были обнаружены древние письмена, впоследствии получившие название "Тексты Пирамид" или "Книга Мертвых".


Работы в Пирамидном архитектурном комплексе Унаса с тех пор не останавливались.

  • 1899 - 1901 гг. Итальянский архитектор и египтолог Алессандро Барсанти провел первое исследование окрестностей Пирамиды, в результате которого была раскопана часть Царского Заупокойного Храма, а также ряд гробниц II Династии и Позднего Периода.

  • 1929 - 1931 гг. Раскопками Пирамидного Комплекса Унаса занимался британский египтолог Сесил Маллаби Фирт, вплоть до самой своей смерти в 1931 году.

  • 1936 - 1939 гг. Исследования продолжает французский архитектор и египтолог Жан-Филипп Лауэр.

  • 1937 - 1949 гг. Египетские археологи Селим Хасан, Мухаммед Закария Гонейм и Абдел-Салам Хуссейн сосредоточили археологические исследования на Процессионной Дороге Унаса. В ходе раскопок Хуссейн обнаружил несколько Ям Лодок, расположенных вдоль верхней части Дороги.

  • 1970 - 1981 гг. Египетский археолог Ахмад Мусса и французский археолог Одран Лабрусс произвели раскопки нижней части Процессионной Дороги и Долинного Храма.

  • 1999 - 2001 гг. Под руководством Высшего Совета Древностей произведена крупномасштабная реставрация Долинного Храма.

  • 1996 - 2016 гг. Пирамиду закрывают из-за влажности, нанесшей ущерб Погребальной Камере.

  • 26 мая 2016 г. Спустя 20 лет, Министр Древностей Халед Эль-Энани вновь открывает Пирамиду Царя Унаса для посетителей.

Пирамида сложена из необработанных известняковых блоков, размер которых уменьшается по мере приближения к вершине. Облицовка сохранилась исключительно на самых низких уровнях. Вход в Пирамиду расположен на северной стороне, на уровне почвы.

Source: Gaston Maspero, The dawn of civilization. Egypt and Chaldaea
1897
ISIDA Project
Photo by Valery Senmuth
2019

Стены Погребальной Камеры облицованы белым алебастром, на котором Древнеегипетским иероглифическим письмом высечены колонки заупокойных текстов, выкрашенных в бирюзовый цвет, который символизировал воскрешение. Тексты Пирамиды Унаса содержат 283 "заклинания" и являются неотъемлемой частью "Текстов Пирамид" или "Книги Мертвых", состоящих почти из 800 известных "заклинаний" или "высказываний", предназначенных для того, чтобы сопроводить "перерожденную" в ином мире душу усопшего и защитить ее путь в Загробном Мире.

Помимо Пирамиды Унаса, "Тексты Пирамид" были найдены еще в четырех Пирамидах V-VI Династий ( Тети, Пепи I, Меренра и Пепи II), в Пирамиде VIII Династии, принадлежащей Царю Иби, а также в нескольких небольших Пирамидах Цариц.

Саркофаг Унаса, выполненный из граувакки, располагается у западной стены его Погребальной Камеры. Мумия самого Царя так и не была найдена, за исключением нескольких мумифицированных фрагментов костей, обнаруженных во время археологических работ в Пирамиде. В настоящее время найденные в Пирамиде останки хранятся в Каирском Музее Древностей, но до сих пор так и неясно, принадлежат ли они Царю Унасу.

Некоторые особенности окрестностей Пирамиды Унаса и внешние особенности непосредственно самой Пирамиды были описаны в отчете об экспедиции Проекта ИСИДА в 2012 г. Внутренние помещения были описаны в отчете об экспедиции 2013 года, когда по специальному разрешению членам нашей исследовательской группы был предоставлен доступ во внутренние помещения Пирамиды.

В настоящее время двери Пирамиды Унаса открыты для посещений.

Гастон Масперо в Погребальной Камере Унаса, 1881 год.
Художник:
Edouard, Boudier, 1903
Погребальная Камера Унаса, 2019 год.
Фото:
Valery Senmuth


Ниже представлены фотографии внутренних помещений Пирамиды, "Тексты Пирамид", саркофаг Унаса:

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Погребальный Припирамидный Храм, располагавшийся с восточной стороны Пирамиды Унаса, в настоящее время практически полностью разрушен. Многие из его элементов, включая блоки, архитравы и колонны были использованы повторно в более поздних сооружениях на протяжении долгой истории как Древнеегипетского Царства, так и Римской Эпохи.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Небольшая Пирамида-спутница была расположена с южной стороны Верхнего Храма, внутри Оградительной Стены. До нашего времени частично сохранился лишь периметр фундамента Пирамиды.

   
   
   

На южной стороне Пирамиды Унаса находится часть надписи, принадлежащая Царевичу XIX Династии Хаэмуасу - старшему сыну Рамсеса II, верховному жрецу бога Птаха в Мемфисе. Хаэмуас восстановил многие сооружения Древнего Царства, включая и Пирамиду Унаса - спустя 1000 лет после ее постройки. За масштабную архитектурно-строительную деятельность по восстановлению и реконструкции разрушенных храмов и прочих древнеегипетских памятников, возведенных его далекими предками, Хаэмуаса часто называют «первым археологом».

   
   
   

Процессионная Дорога, соединяющая Верхний Храм Унаса с его Нижним Долинным Храмом, в свое время была впечатляющим грандиозным сооружением. Будучи раскопанной Селимом Хасаном в 1937 году она и поныне является наилучшей сохранившейся Процессионной Дорогой, ведущей от Пирамиды к Нилу. Дорога состояла из крытого Коридора длиной 720 м, внутренние стены которого были украшены барельефами высококачественного исполнения, которые описывали сцены из Мира Живых, начинающегося в её восточной части и заканчивались сюжетами из Мира Мертвых, приуроченного к части западной.

Среди множества сцен имеются изображения транспортировки гранита из Асуана, сцены охоты (на жирафов, львов и леопардов), сцены сельскохозяйственной направленности, металлообработки, сражений, а также сюжеты, связанные с царскими ритуалами, включая церемонии Хеб-Сед.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Слева, параллельно Процессионной Дороге, на подходе к Пирамиде, находятся две Ладейные Ямы, стены которых выложены известняковыми блоками.



   
   
   

Сохранность Нижних Храмов Пирамид, к сожалению, оставляет желать лучшего. Причиной нынешнего плохого состояния Нижних Храмов явилась легкая доступность к добыче готового стройматериала для возведения более поздних строений плюс удобное расположение и близость к главной транспортной артерии Египта - Нилу. Долинный Храм Унаса не стал исключением.

В результате исследовательско-восстановительных работ, проводимых под руководством Высшего Совета Древностей, было установлено, что Долинный Храм Унаса, по всей вероятности, был расположен на берегу озера с гаванью и набережной, обеспечивающей удобный доступ к Процессионной Дороге.

В последние годы, за время проведения необходимых восстановительных работ, Процессионная Дорога Унаса и Долинный Храм претерпели значительную реконструкцию, и сейчас, спустя почти 4,5 тысячи лет, можно спокойно пройти по мощеной дороге от древней пересохшей гавани, в которой когда-то швартовались царские ладьи, непосредственно к самой Пирамиде. К той самой, впервые открывшей человечеству каменные страницы древнейшей на Земле Книги Вечности - "Книги Мертвых".


Photo by Tore Kjeilen/LookLex


<< Назад в Саккару

Обсудить на форуме >>

© Все права на фото и видеоматериал защищены и принадлежат Проекту "ИСИДА"

© Copyright 2019 of ISIDA Project. All rights reserved.