- GIZA -

Mastaba of Ra'Wer III

Ra'Wer was an Official during the Vth Dynasty. He was awarded a number of important ranks, such as the Judge and Nome Administrator, the Overseer of the King's Works, the Overseer of the Army and Ritualist.

His Tomb is located 50 meters to the west from the Tomb of the Queen Khentkaus.

The first, who started research works here was the German Egyptologist Karl Richard Lepsius. In 1849 he made a brief description of the external features of the monument and entered it in the Catalog of Ancient Egyptian Monuments under the code number LG 94:


(Click the image to enlarge)
Source: Denkmaeler aus Aegypten und Aethiopien nach den zeichnungen der von Seiner Majestaet dem koenige von Preussen Friedrich Wilhelm IV, 1849

85 years later, the Egyptian archeologist Selim Hassan, who directed large-scale excavations in Giza Necropolis in 1933-1934, made a more detailed description of the Mastaba of Ra'Wer and became the first to enter it's underground rooms. He made a detailed describtion of his archaeological discoveries in Giza in his work Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5. and, according to the new numbering of the Giza objects, entered it into the Catalog of Ancient Egyptian Monuments under the code number G8310.


(Click the image to enlarge)
Source: Selim Hassan. Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5.


Year 1934

Mastaba represents itself a destroyed rectangular structure of 36.2 x 1500 x 5.5 meters height, built of large limestone blocks, forming its external walls with 13 rows of masonry. The inner space of the building is filled with limestone fragments, forming a solid rectangular mass.

The main architectural feature of this ancient monument is a Terrace of 8,6 x 4,5 x 1,5 meters height, located in front of its eastern facade. This Terrace was once adjoined by a ramp of 2,5 meters long and about 1,3 meters wide. On the top of this Terrace we are still able to see the remains of the Portico supported by four rectangular pillars, forming a small chapel with a false door, cut of a monolithic limestone slab of 2,1 x 4,1 m and 0,5 m width, sunk into the eastern wall of Mastaba.

Each of the pillars, hewn from the monolithic blocks of a local limestone has a size of ~ 0.9 x 0.7 x 3.8 meters height. All 4 pillars have badly suffered from weathering, so that now we have only to guess about the initial beauty of this architectural edifice of the ancient magnificent structure.


The upper part of the false-door, made of a separate jumper block of 0,95 x 0,65 meters, now rests not where it was designed to be. It can be found to the south of the Portico in the inverted position, where it was discovered by the archaeological mission of Selim Hassan.

Two horizontal rows of hieroglyphs, engtaved on it bearing the following information:
First register: "A boon which the King gives and a boon which Anubis, Presiding . . . "
Second case: " That offerings may come forth to him in . . ."

Selim Hassan. Excavations at Giza. 1933-1934 Vol.5, p.295 ISIDA Project, 2019

The bas-reliefs, engraved on the main plate of the false-door are now almost completely unreadable due to severe erosion, irretrievably eating the soft surface of a yellow limestone. However, Selim Hassan was able to identify the fragments of some hieroglyphic inscriptions, carved on both sides of the slab. Due to this information, one of the titles of Ra'Wer was determined: "...Iwn-kenmwt, Overseer of the Work of the King, Ra'Wer."


In the eastern wall of the Terrace, under the pedestal of the Portico there is a hole, made through the masonry.

Behind this hole, there is a Descending Passage of 11,5 meters length and 1,6 meters width, cut in a bedrock.

It leads to a spacious rock cut Burial Chamber, which consists of two rooms. The perimeter of the outer room has a size of 6,75 x 2,7 meters.

The western corner of its southern wall has a niche of 0,90 x 0,92 x 0,96 meters.

The western wall of the Burial Chamber has a doorway to the a smaller room, the entrance to which is crowned with Ancient Egyptian cavetto portal, carved in stone.

(How and why the modern tire has got in there is unknown question, lying beyound the frames of our photo - report, but it's presence turned out to be very useful for perception of the scale of the underground rooms of the ancient Tomb).

The most part of the Burial Chamber is filled with stone fragments, which completely prevent any further penetration into it's deeper spaces. According to Selim Hassan's research, there sarcophagus of Ra'Wer was located in this very room, as evidenced by the rectangular depression in it's floor, which he discovered during the excavation of the Mastaba. In the western wall of this room, which is now unreachable because of debris, Selim Hassan has discovered a shallow recess of 0,5 x 3,5 x 0,5 meters.

Lets note, that theBurial Chamber, in its main architectural features, is similar to the Burial Chamber of the Queen Khentkaus, whose Tomb is located nearby.

The Creative Director of ISIDA Project, Valery Senmuth, offers us to make a small virtual tour to the Giza Plateau to the area of ​​the Mastaba of Ra'Wer in his video, directly from the site:

   
   

Internal rooms of Mastaba of Ra'Wer III.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

REFERENCES:



Author: Selim Hassan.
Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5.
Year: 1944



Author: Karl Richard Lepsius
Denkmaeler aus Aegypten und Aethiopien nach den zeichnungen der von Seiner Majestaet dem koenige von Preussen Friedrich Wilhelm IV
Year: 1849


<< Back to Giza

Discuss on Forum >>



© Copyright 2019 of ISIDA Project. All rights reserved.

- Гиза -

Мастаба Рауэра III

Рауэр был Царским чиновником во времена правления V Династии. За время своей службы он был удостоен ряда важных государственных титулов, таких как Судья и Администратор Нома, Надзиратель над Царскими Работами, Надзиратель над Армией, Ритуалист.

Его Мастаба расположена в 50 метрах на запад от Гробницы Царицы Хенткаус:

Первым исследователем, проводившим здесь археологические работы в 1849 году, был немецкий египтолог Карл Рихард Лепсиус. Он сделал описание внешней архитектуры сооружения и занес его в Каталог Древнеегипетских Памятников под кодовым номером LG 94:


(Нажмите на изображение, чтобы увеличить)
Исчтоничк: Denkmaeler aus Aegypten und Aethiopien nach den zeichnungen der von Seiner Majestaet dem koenige von Preussen Friedrich Wilhelm IV, 1849

Спустя 85 лет, египетский археолог Селим Хассан, проводивший крупномасштабные раскопки в некрополе Гизы в 1933-1934 годах, сделал более подробное описание Мастабы Рауэра и стал первым, кто проник в ее внутренние подземные помещения. Свои археологические открытия в Гизе он подробно описал в своей работе Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5 и, согласно новой нумерации объектов Гизы, занес ее в Каталог Древнеегипетских Памятников под кодовым номером G 8310.


(Нажмите на изображение, чтобы увеличить)
Источник: Selim Hassan. Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5.


1934 год

Мастаба представляет собой полуразрушенное прямоугольное сооружение размером 36,2 х 15,0 и 5,5 метров в высоту, сложенное из крупных известняковых блоков, образующих на данный момент 13 рядов кладки ее внешних стен. Внутреннее пространство Мастабы заполнено песком и известняковыми обломками, образующими сплошной прямоугольный массив.

Основной архитектурной особенностью гробницы является терраса размером 8,6 х 4,5 и 1,5 метров в высоту, расположенная перед ее восточным фасадом. К этой террасе когда-то примыкала рампа длиной 2,5 метра и шириной около 1,3 метра. На террасе был выстроен портик, поддерживаемый четырьмя прямоугольными колоннами, которые некогда образовывали небольшую часовню с фальш-дверью, выполненной из монолитной известняковой плиты размером 2,1 х 0,5м и высотой 4,1 м. Фальш-дверь утоплена в кладку восточной стены Мастабы.

Каждый из столбов, вытесанных из местного известняка, имеет размер ~ 0,9 х 0,7 и 3,8 метров в высоту. Все 4 столба очень сильно пострадали от эрозии и сейчас приходится лишь догадываться о некогда былой красоте этого архитектурного элемента древнего величественного сооружения.

Вверхняя часть фальш-двери, выполненная отдельным блоком-перемычкой размером 0,95 х 0,65 м, к сожалению, сейчас находится не там, где ее проектировали древние архитекторы. Она мирно покоится в перевернутом состоянии слева от портика, где ее и обнаружила археологическая миссия Селима Хассана.

На перемычке выгровированы два горизонтальных ряда иероглифов.
Первый регистр: «Благо, которое дает Царь, и благо, которое дает Анубис, Руководящий ...» Второй регистр: «Эти подношения могут достичь его в..."

Selim Hassan. Excavations at Giza. 1933-1934 Vol.5, p.295 ISIDA Project, 2019

Барельефы, высеченные на самой ложной двери, ныне практически неразличимы из-за сильнейшей эрозии, безвозвратно изъевшей мягкую поверхность желтого известняка. Однако Селиму Хассану в 1933 году удалось идентифицировать фрагменты иероглифических надписей, зеркально высеченных по обе стороны фальш-двери, которые и определили один из титулов хозяина гробницы.
Фрагменты надписи гласят: "... Надзиратель Царских Работ, Рауэр".

В восточной стене террасы, под пъедесталом портика имеется отверстие ввиду отсутсвия части кладки.

Сразу за этим отверстием начинается Нисходящий Коридор длиной 11,15м и шириной 1,6м прорубленный полностью в скальном основании известнякового плато Гизы.

Коридор ведет в просторную Погребальную Камеру, вырубленную в скале.

Погребальная Камера состоит из двух комнат. Периметр внешней комнаты имеет размеры 6,75 x 2,7м. В западном углу ее южной стены существует Ниша размером 0,90 x 0,92 м и глубиной 0,96м.

В западной стене Погребальной Камеры находится комната, вход в которую увенчан высеченным в камне порталом с характерной Древнеегипетской выкружкой по длине его карниза.

(Вопрос о том, как и зачем туда попала современная автомобильная покрышка - так и останется в тайне, лежашей далеко за рамками данного фото-отчета, но ее присутствие оказалось очень кстати для восприятия масштаба древнего подземного сооружения).

Подавляющая часть этой комнаты в настоящее время заполнена фрагментами каменных обломков, полностью предотвращающими проникновение в ее дальнейшие пространства. Согласно исследованиям Селима Хассана в этой комнате находился саркофаг Рауэра, о чем свидетельствовало, ныне недоступное из-за завала, прямоугольное углубление в полу, обнаруженное им во время раскопок Мастабы. В западной стене этой комнаты Селим Хассан обнаружил небольшое углубление размером 0,5 х 3,5 м и глубиной 0,5 м, которое, согласно схеме сооружения, является конечной западной границей внутренней части подземной архитектуры строения.

Следует отметить, что Погребальная Камера по своим основным архитектурным особенностям имеет сходство с Погребальной Камерой Царицы Хенткаус, чья гробница расположена поблизости.

Совершить небольшую виртуальную экскурсию на плато Гиза в район рассматриваемой гробницы нам предлагает Креативный Директор Проекта ИСИДА - Валерий Senmuth в своем видео, непосредственно с места событий апреля 2019:

   
   

Внутренние помещения Мастабы Рауэра III.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

ИСТОЧНИКИ:



Автор: Selim Hassan.
Excavations at Giza 1933-1934. Vol. 5.
Год: 1944



Автор:Karl Richard Lepsius
Denkmaeler aus Aegypten und Aethiopien nach den zeichnungen der von Seiner Majestaet dem koenige von Preussen Friedrich Wilhelm IV
Год: 1849


<< Назад в Гизу

Обсудить на форуме >>

© Все права на фото и видеоматериал защищены и принадлежат Проекту "ИСИДА"

© Copyright 2019 of ISIDA Project. All rights reserved.